Friday, May 22, 2020

WOMEN'S FICTION - The Book of Us by Andrea Michael








She had to be able to look back at this as a time that was sacred, magical. There would be pain enough later.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. She wants to know if Loll still has The Big Book as her dying wish is to do everything they had planned. Little does Loll know that there is one big difference: Veronica, Cass’s six-year-old daughter, will be coming with them.

Time is ticking for Cass, who is desperate to make lasting memories for her young daughter and ensure that she’s leaving her in good hands. But how do you say goodbye to those you love most in the world?

An emotional and uplifting novel of friendship, love and the family you choose. Perfect for fans of Gill Childs, Amanda Prowse and Jojo Moyes.





My Rating - 4.5 Stars!


The Book of Us is a powerful tale of friendship. It's messy and complicated with a past that leads to an even more complicated reunion. 

From the start it reminded me of the movie "Beaches." And like in Beaches, this is the tale of one friend always living in the shadows. And in a sweet manner,  this author reminds us that sometimes that is okay. 

It's a story of trying to make amends under the worst of circumstances. 
Cass and Loll have 5 years of anger, resentment, and confusion between them. They have a past full of complications muddled by lies and meddling. They are two woman, two friends, who are reunited and working on forgiveness, healing, and moving forward.

The writing is stellar, easily capturing the different voices on the characters. 

The Book of Us is a beautiful story. This Andrea Michael read is heart-felt, emotional and a memorable story of healing. 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Bully & Exit (The Midwest Series #1) by Brigham Vaughn

Amazon Link Goodreads Link Theater student Caleb Stockwell is ready to leave college behind. Too bad his past isn’t rea...