Wednesday, February 26, 2020

WOMEN'S FICTION - A Hope For Emily by Kate Hewitt






Blurb

Looking back, I wish I could find my way back to that moment. I’d snatch it and hold onto it and live in it for the rest of my life, if I could. When Emily could still throw her arms around me. Oh God, just give me that moment, or one like it again. That’s all I want.

From the moment Emily was born, reaching out with her tiny little star-shaped hand towards her mother, blinking with long eyelashes over soft blue eyes, she became Rachel’s whole world.

But Rachel’s worst nightmare comes true when a rare auto-immune illness leaves five-year-old Emily in a coma the doctors say she may never come out of. And Rachel has to make a heartbreaking decision—one that her ex-husband, Emily’s dad James, doesn’t agree with.

Terrified she’s going to lose her daughter for good, Rachel knows she must find a way to keep the hope alive for Emily. But there is only one person she can turn to for help to convince James—his new wife, Eva.

As an unlikely but powerful friendship develops between the two women, both Rachel and Eva will have to ask themselves—what is truly the right choice for the tiny, fragile little girl who lies between them?

A beautiful story that will break your heart into a million pieces, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Susan Lewis.

Review 
My Rating - 5 Stars!

A Hope For Emily is an emotional journey, full of self reflection, loses, grief, hope, and moving on. This Kate Hewitt is a thought provoking novel that is perfect for book clubs. 

The relationships between Rachel, James, and Eva are complicated to say the least. Theirs is a story of fear and anguish, acceptance and reality, wasted opportunities and regret.

This is a story not about Emily, but about her parents and step-mother. It's a sad journey of how people handle complications and loss. It's about the differences between keeping one's pain to themselves, or allowing others to help share the burden and pain. 

It's also a tough exploration of hope versus reality, and when it's okay to give up. It also is about the trouble of rediscovering who one is after years of grieving. 

The writing is phenomenal, with complex characters and an even more complex storyline. 

A Hope for Emily is a multi-layered story of parenthood, both the good and the bad. The conflict is non-stop, the pain is excruciating, and the fear of moving forward well explored. It's riveting and one hell of a journey.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Bully & Exit (The Midwest Series #1) by Brigham Vaughn

Amazon Link Goodreads Link Theater student Caleb Stockwell is ready to leave college behind. Too bad his past isn’t rea...