Wednesday, February 19, 2020

MF - Hearts Made for Breaking by Jen Klein






Blurb

Reel him in. Make him love you. Break his heart? Think How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days for contemporary YA romance readers. A sure bet for anyone in search of a heartwarming, laugh-out-loud love story that will charm their socks off.

Lark is the queen of breakups. When she ends things with a boy, there are never any hard feelings. Sometimes he doesn't even realize that she broke up with him. And that's exactly how Lark likes it. What's the point in hurting people? Or getting hurt?

Her best friends, Cooper and Katie, think Lark's dating pattern is tragic. How can she know what love is if she refuses to take risks? They dare her to finally have a bad breakup, one that matters. To appease her friends, Lark selects "Undateable" Ardy Tate as her target. He's a mysterious challenge and completely different from any guy she's ever dated. Can she win him over? Will she break his heart? Or will the Queen of Breakups have her heart broken?

Fall in love with another YA romance from Jen Klein, the author of Shuffle, Repeat, which SLJ praised as "addictive. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen will enjoy this sweet romance."



Review 
My Rating - 4 Stars!

Hearts Made for Breaking is fun from the start, as Lark and Artie meet up in Ikea. Jen Klein manages to grab the reader with cuteness and sweetness. 

What follows is a compelling young adult romance that starts with a dating game. It's no surprise that that will come back to bite Lark, but it's a fun journey.

Lark and Artie are ultimately two high school students who each have some issues. Lark never lets herself know any of the guys she dates, keeping them at a distance before she can get too involved, or hurt. Artie has been the victim of rumors and labeled as "undateable." 

Both characters have an interesting journey towards self-discovery and self-acceptance. Told through Lark's point of view, the reader is easily able to see all of Lark's flaws, as well as her discoveries. Yes, she does some stupid things, but it's a fun read.  

Hearts Made for Breaking is cute and is definitely similar to How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days. It's definitely an enjoyable read, which I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cute high school romance. 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Push & Pull (The Midwest Series #2) by Brigham Vaughn

Amazon Link Goodreads Link Brent Cameron has been dreaming about a road trip around Lake Michigan for years. When...